Normally whenever a shared database is open it is automatically connected to it’s server. This connection allows data modification to happen in a coordinated fashion between multiple users simultaneously working with the database.

Sometimes, however, you may want to temporarily disconnect a database from the server without actually closing it. The most common reason for doing this is to allow another user to change the design of the database, for example to add a new procedure or field (see Changing the Design of a Shared Database). To temporarily disconnect the database, choose Disconnect from Server from the File menu. Once the database is disconnected you can still view it, but you cannot modify the data. The toolbar displays a lock icon to indicate that the data cannot be modified.

** 

When you’re ready to connect again (for example when the other user has finished changing the design), simply choose Connect from Server from the File menu. The icon in the toolbar will change to indicate that the database is connected to the server and that the data can be modified again.

If another user changed the structure of the database while the database was offline, Panorama will prompt you to download the new generation of the database. See Changing the Design of a Shared Database to learn more about this process.


See Also


History

VersionStatusNotes
10.2NewNew in this version.