Unlike ordinary data records, Summary Records are not shared with other users or stored in the server copy of the database. Instead, summary records are always kept individually on each local database. This allows each individual user to group his or her local database in his or her own way. Because summary records are not shared, they are also not locked. Double clicking on a summary record does not lock the summary record (because no one else could possibly modify your summary record). Likewise, the Group, Total, Average, and other Field>Analyze submenu commands are not affected by record locking.

In general, summary records work pretty much the way they do in single user databases. You can use the Summarize & Analyze Dialog to create summary records, or you can manually create them with the commands in the Field>Analze submenu. When you’re done with the summary records you can use the Remove Summaries command to remove them (synchronizing will also remove the summary records). All of this happens on your local computer — no one else on the network can see your summaries, and different users on the network can do the same or different summaries simultaneously.

Summary Workshop and Crosstab Workshop

Like summary records, these workshops work exactly the same as they do in a single-user database. All summary and cross tab calculations are performed independently on each local database, in other words, each database user can perform his or her own summary and cross tab analyses.


See Also


History

VersionStatusNotes
10.2NewNew in this version.